Home » About the Irish National Seismic Network (INSN)

About the Irish National Seismic Network (INSN)

The Geophysics Section in DIAS operates and maintains the INSN with support from the Geological Survey Ireland (GSI), see map for station locations. Data are transmitted in quasi real-time from the seismic stations to our data centre in Dublin and to our international partners GeoForschungsZentrum Potsdam (GFZ, Germany), ORFEUS, IRIS and the British Geological Survey (BGS).

Stations DSB in Dublin and VAL in Kerry are operated in collaboration with GFZ, station VAL also in collaboration with Met Eireann.

For further information about the INSN please email us at insn-info@cp.dias.ie or get into contact with

Dr Martin Möllhoff, Director of Seismic Networks, martin@dias.ie, tel. +353-1-6535147 ext. 218, www.dias.ie/martin

James Grannell, Seismic Network Analyst Technical Officer, grannell@cp.dias.ie, tel. +353-1-6535147 ext. 278

Dr Patrick Smith, Seismic Network Field Technical Officer, psmith@cp.dias.ie, tel. +353-1-6535147 ext. 278

Prof. Chris Bean, Head of the Geophysics Section and Director of the School of Cosmic Physics, chris.bean@dias.ie, tel. +353-1-6535147 ext. 224

For information about the recently initiated Quake Shake Community Seismology Project that aims to support Citizen Science please visit www.quakeshake.ie or contact info@quakeshake.ie

Past Seismograms
follow this link

Live Seismograms
All stations here
Filtered versions here
DSB - Dublin
VAL - Kerry

Past Spectrograms
follow this link
Live Spectrograms
All stations here
ITIP - N. Tipperary
IMAY - Mayo